2016 Vanguard Banquet

Aug 6, 2016 | News, Santa Clara Vanguard

After two blocks of rehearsal on Friday, August 5, the members and staff of the Santa Clara Vanguard took a break from the everyday drum corps routine. Ditching the section shorts and cut off shirts for something a little dressier, everyone cleaned up and took off to celebrate the season at the 2016 Vanguard Banquet.

After a few welcoming words from Director Charles Frost, dinner was served and awards were soon to follow. Each caption head took the podium to recognize the outstanding members from their section.

Color Guard:
Rookie of the Year — Andres Garcia
Most Improved — Trevor Bigelow
Outstanding Flag — Claire King
Outstanding Sabre — Kelsey Hernandez
Outstanding Rifle — Nick Rodriguez
Outstanding Performer — Austin Kain
Joanna Avilla Memorial Award — Emily Strother

Rookie of the Year — Sean Suarez
Most Improved — Carlos Castaneda
RAMBO Award — Katie Christensen
Mike Korten Memorial Award — Colton Garrett

Rookies of the Year — Bryce Gardner & Stephanie Schoeph
Most Improved — Izaiah McDowell & Matthew Kossick
Zildjian Award — John Nguyen
Mike LaPorta Memorial Award — Jon Maynard

Golden Foot (Color Guard) — Walter Jackson & Sae Ito
Golden Foot (Brass) — Emma Grayck, Alex Desmond & Stone Wang
Golden Foot (Percussion) —
Parker Davis
Myron Rosander Outstanding Visual Award
 — Keoni Sailer

Once again, Charles Frost took the podium to present the final, most prestigious awards of the night.

Art Velarde Memorial Spirit Award — Mykal McGrew
Gail Royer Memorial Vanguard of the Year Award — Jeanne Lewis



More Recent News