2019 Santa Clara Vanguard Awards

Aug 13, 2019 | Vanguard Cadets, Blog Post

The Santa Clara Vanguard officially wrapped up their season on Sunday, August 11 at the 2019 Vanguard End of Season Banquet in Indianapolis. Members, staff, volunteers, family, and friends all gathered at the JW Marriott to celebrate the corps’ accomplishments and thank those who made it all possible. Each year, the SCV Caption Managers and Corps Management come together to vote on membership awards, recognizing outstanding contributions to the organization. Please join us in congratulating the following recipients of the 2019 SCV Membership Awards:

Gail Royer Memorial Vanguard of the Year Award Cheslee Morgan, Noah Weule

Art Velarde Memorial Spirit AwardJacob Wilson

Vanguard Directors AwardMatthew Richard, Josiah Wallace, Dallas Kiefer, and Tammy Adams

Leadership Service Award – Jack Hawkins Decaire

Shahinian Higher Education Award Ashley Ballengee, Trevor Deary, Jared Sipple

Gary Moyer Memorial Scholarship Award Matthew Distante

Joanna Avilla Memorial Award – Justin Curry
Rookie of the Year – Kristen Collazo
Most Improved – Jeffery Kinderdine
Outstanding Flag – Carrie Appel
Outstanding Sabre – Grayson Schiff-Clark
Outstanding Rifle – Preston Winton
Outstanding Performer – Julius Hakkarainen
Outstanding Dancer – Chad Neely

Mike Korten Memorial Award – Emily Frederickson
Rookie of the Year – Scott McDonald
Most Improved – Brett Clark
RAMBO Award – Gavin Sullivan

Mike LaPorta Memorial Award (Battery) – Bryce Gardner
Mike LaPorta Memorial Award (Front Ensemble) – Tyler Primeaux
Rookie of the Year (Battery) – Remy Thomas
Rookie of the Year (Front Ensemble) – Aaron Mincey
Most Improved (Battery) – Will Abraamyan
Most Improved (Front Ensemble) – Jessica Lee
Zildjian Award – Andrew Launier

Myron Rosander Outstanding Visual Award – Ashley Ballengee
Golden Foot (Guard) – Chris Valdes, Hilja Stamper
Golden Foot (Brass) – Ryan Weber, Julia Wong, Austin Byers
Golden Foot (Percussion) – Orion Choy

More Recent Blogs

Celebrating Black History Month With SCVWG’s Story of John Henry

For Black History Month, we are celebrating by revisiting the story of John Henry with Vanguard performance coach and storyteller, Wayne Harris. A freedman during the Reconstruction Era, post Civil War, John Henry was a railroad steel driver and, as legend has it,...

History of The Bottle Dance, In Honor of Pat Pierson

Imagine a long row of dancers, hands interlocked and arms held at an unshakeable ninety-degree angle. As the unmistakable strains of the “Wedding Dance” from Fiddler on the Roof swell, the line moves forward as one. Step. Drag. Step. With the lock of each passing...

In Memoriam

This past year, we lost two important pillars of the Vanguard organization and its history. Don and Ginny Koester passed peacefully on June 27th and February 1st of 2021 respectively. Together they served the Vanguard organization from 1970-1999 and briefly from...

Vanguard Voices: Episode 8

Celebrate Pride Month with our latest episode of Vanguard Voices! Three of our alumni, each of whom proudly represent SCV and the LGBTQ+ community, openly share how the activity played a part in their coming out experience, the progress they've witnessed in each of...